I am looking forward to the new year. 2013 was a good year–even a really good year–but I fully expect 2014 to be a great year.

So I just want to chit and chat, and dump a bunch of random stuff in this post. For starters, here is an artsy photo of my Sphinx machine. I think it was made in 1917 or so, and that it was originally a treadle. That’s my story anyway. Sphinx Sewing Machine

Here are a few of my favorite sewing tools. The most important item is, of course, the seam ripper. Also it’s the cheapest. I also think it may be the original one I had when I first took sewing lessons at 4H when I was 9.Favorite Sewing tools

Those 3 metal things in the middle are the bobbins for my Sphinx machine. The scissors are Gingher shears which were my big birthday present from my parents about 20 years ago.

And this is my newest assistant.

Horus the cat
Horus

He showed up just before Thanksgiving and he is called Horus. You have to say the name just right, too. Lower the voice a little, annunciate the syllables, and roll the ‘r’ but not too much. We like to call him in from outside in that weird voice too.

Do you ever put in a fly front onto pants or skirts? I hate making those things. I would avoid a fly front like the flu until I found Sandra Betzina’s video over at Threads.

That’s all for now, friends. I am working on a beautiful coat for the Oaf, and then it will be time to work on something awesome for Drag Ball.

